OWSD has been working hard in Africa since 1997 to improve the number and quality of women scientists. There are more than 4000 active OWSD members in the region, and 17 OWSD National Chapters (see below). Our fellowships programme has provided full PhD scholarships to nearly 400 women from 30 countries in sub-Saharan Africa. We have had more than 70 host institutes in 19 African countries. Early Career fellowships have been awarded to 39 women from 16 countries in Africa. Our first President, Lydia Makhubu was from Swaziland. Current President Jennifer Thomson is from South Africa. 


Coordinator: Olubukola Babalola

There is so much scientific knowledge and talent to be harnessed in Africa.

In 42 Countries


Success stories

Search form